Plans

 Forever Free

ⱱ/ Essentials

 Scale

 Enterprise


User roles

✗ Reader

ⱱ/ Writer

ⱱ Admin





Why?


Setting permissions can be especially helpful to restrict certain users from seeing specific content. It allows you to keep your original structure but just hide parts of your content. 


Think of hiding a Pay Roll library inside your Human Resources board. Or hide a Leadership Board as you only want this to be accessible to your leadership team!


 How?

 

There are three levels of permissions and they can be changed in two locations; one is on the level of Boards and the one on Library level.


Types of permissions


Reader

The workspace member can read knowledge but can't create it on the board/library.


Writer

The active workspace member can create and manage the content of the board/library.


All Users - No Access

No Access, previously known as "Invite only" (No Access is only available for the "All Users" group) gives only admins access to the board and lets you add specific people or groups with specific permissions individually


Board level permissions


  1. Navigate to your board overview.
  2. Click on the three-dotted menu of the board where you want to set the permissions and select edit.

  3. The Setting board modal will appear. Click on the Permissions button.
  4. The default permissions are set to "All users - Reader" which means that all active workspace members can read knowledge but can't create it on this board.

    If you change the all users access to Writer, all your active workspace members can create and manage the content of the board.

    Lastly, you can set all user permissions to No Access, previously known as "Invite only" (No Access is only available for the "All Users" group):
    Select "No Access" only if specific people who are invited should have permission to see this board and the content.

    After you set your all user group permission, you can add a more granular permission structure for each member individually by adding them to the permission table.

  5. Click on the input field and select a user or user group you want to set permissions for.
  6. The selected user or user group is now added to the permission table and can now be selected on an individual level by clicking on the dropdown.

If your "All users" group is set to Reader, all your additional users who also have read access will be removed out of the user permission table to avoid redundancy.


An individual user permission overrules the settings of a user group setting. E.g., Bram Billiet is a member of the Sales Team group. In the permission table of a private board, the sales group is added as Reader and Bram as Writer.


Bram will have the permission to create and edit content (Writer); the other members of the user groups will only be able to read content (Reader).


Library level permissions*


  1. Navigate to your library overview
  2. Click on the three-dotted menu of the library where you want to set the permissions and select edit.
  3. The Setting board modal will appear. Click on the Permissions button.
  4. The default permissions are set to "All users - Reader" which means that all active workspace members can read knowledge but can't create it on this library.

    If you change the all users access to Writer, all your active workspace members can create and manage the content of the library.

    Lastly, you can set all user permissions to No Access, previously known as "Invite only" (No Access is only available for the "All Users" group):
    Select "No Access" only if specific people who are invited should have permission to see this library and the content.

    After you set your all user group permission, you can add a more granular permission structure for each member individually by adding them to the permission table.

  5. Click on the input field and select a user or user group you want to set permissions for.
  6. The selected user or user group is now added to the permission table and can now be selected on an individual level by clicking on the dropdown.


If your "All users" group is set to Reader, all your additional users who also have read access will be removed out of the user permission table to avoid redundancy.


An individual user permission overrules the settings of a user group setting. E.g., Thomas is a member of the Dev Team group. In the permission table of a private board, the sales group is added as Reader and Thomas as Writer.


Thomas will have the permission to create and edit content (Writer); the other members of the user groups will only be able to read content (Reader).


Note: As the permissions work in a granular way, the library permissions will overrule the board permissions.


E.g.: Bram has writer permission on board level (see board permissions point 6) but "All user" on library level is set to "No access" and Bram does not have individual access and is not part of the dev team. He then will not be able to see this library.


***library permissions are not available for Forever Free and Essential plans. Essential plans do have access to board permissions.

Video



Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select atleast one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article